Jul 022014
 

vc_photoThe Stephen King-centric website Lilja’s Library has posted a very informative interview with artist Vincent Chong. Though the interview questions relate to Vincent’s work on various editions of Stephen King’s novels, Vincent has also worked on several of the Subterranean Press editions of Robert McCammon’s novels: the Matthew Corbett books, The Five, The Wolf’s Hour, and The Hunter from the Woods.

You can read the interview here.

Share
Jun 192014
 

The Kindle ebook edition of Speaks the Nightbird is one of today’s Kindle Daily Deals. You can get the ebook for only $1.99 here.

If you buy the ebook, you can also purchase the Audible audiobook (with Whispersync for Voice technology) for only an additional $1.99.

Sorry, this sale is only valid in the U.S. and Canada, and it only applies to the Kindle ebook.

Share
Jun 092014
 

Artist Vincent Chong, who did the cover for The River of Souls, has posted four of the black-and-white interior illustrations he did for the Subterranean Press edition. He did a few extra illustrations, both black-and-white and color, for the limited edition, which also includes a bonus short story, “The Scorpion’s Eye.”

And Subterranean Press has posted two interior illustrations that artist Les Edwards did for their upcoming limited edition of They Thirst.

Visit the Subterranean Press site to purchase the limited editions of The River of Souls and They Thirst.

Share
Jun 042014
 

As we reported earlier this week, Subterranean Press has temporarily lowered the price of the ebook editions of Mister Slaughter and The Providence Rider to $1.99 to celebrate the release of The River of Souls.

For those of you buying the Kindle editions, both have Whispersync for Voice technology, which lets you synchronize the ebook and audiobook versions. Right now, buying the ebook editions of any of the Matthew Corbett books gives you the chance to buy the audiobooks at special prices: $3.99 for Speaks the Nightbird, $4.99 for The Queen of Bedlam, and $1.99 each for Mister Slaughter and The Providence Rider. When you’ve purchased the Kindle option, the special audiobook price should be reflected in the “Formats” box on the page.

The River of Souls is not yet Whispersync-enabled, but that will hopefully be added soon.

Also, the iTunes audiobook of Speaks the Nightbird is currently featured in a Thriller sale and is priced at only $5.95 until June 17.

 

Share
Jun 022014
 

Subterranean Press has posted the following:

Robert McCammon Ebooks for only $1.99. Second Mister Slaughter by Robert McCammonPrinting of The River of Souls hardcover only $14.95

 

To celebrate the print and ebook release of Robert McCammon’s newest Matthew Corbett historical thriller, The River of Souls (hardcover, ebook), we’ve lowered the price to the previous Matthew Corbett ebooks to only $1.99 each. Start with the dark theatrics of Mister Slaughter and work your way through the adventure that is The Providence Rider.

Back on the print end of things, The River of Souls first printing is nearly sold out, so we’ve gone back to press for a second printing. For the moment, copies of the latter are only $14.95 apiece if ordered direct from us.

And:

Only 50 copies of Robert McCammon’s The River of Souls Remain

The River of Souls by Robert McCammon

Low Stock Alert

The trade hardcover of Robert McCammon’s The River of Souls is now 99.9% Sold Out. If snagging a first edition is a priority, you might want to snag a copy ASAP, either from us or your preferred source.

We have ordered a second printing of the hardcover, which we’re discounting for the next two days to only $14.95 plus shipping (which is $10 off the regular price). Thanks to everyone for helping make The River of Souls a quick-building success.

 

Share
May 242014
 

Hello, all. I finished The Border about a month ago, but I wanted to wait to announce that until the book was out on the marketplace. I think it’s pretty good, and it’s certainly different from anything I’ve ever written. Hunter has read it and says he thinks it will appeal to fans of Swan Song and Stinger, so that sounds good to me.

I was asked recently about how long it takes to write a book and how long it takes for the book to be published. I replied that it takes me about nine months to write the book, but it can take another year for the publisher to put it into print. They have to do the cover, the marketing plan and all that, and “fit it” into the schedule. Then something unforeseen might happen and the book might be pushed back into a later pub slot, so it can appear that “I” am not working, but believe me, I am.

I have recently been involved in a legal situation with a past publisher (not TOR, who published The Five, nor Subterranean Press). This has gone on for nine months. It’s amazing how much time something like this takes, and how much of a drain on a person’s resources—financial, time, and mental. Just when I think the situation has been resolved, something else crops up and there you go again, back in the murky soup.

Someday further down the line I may write about my experiences in the publishing business. Most of you would not believe what has happened these past twenty years. Every writer I’ve told my situation to has the same response: “That is the worst story I’ve ever heard.” Honestly, every writer says that to me. But I keep soldiering on, even though it’s been sometimes (often) very difficult. Two things actually keep me going: your readership, and the fact that I have many more books I want to read, and the only way I can read them is to write them.

The publishing business is in a strange place right now. Dealing with the people there, you get the sense that some are in shock and sleepwalking due to abrupt changes in the business, yet their egos are swollen to the extent that they can’t see the forest due to the little bitty bugs on all the leaves. I keep up pretty much with the business, and it always fascinates me to see a book promoted and touted before it’s published…and yet as soon as it hits the shelves, it disappears with no fanfare. I have gone out looking for books that received great attention before its pub date, only to find that the book is gone or that the book was never even delivered to my local Barnes & Noble. I spent a whole summer two years ago looking for a book that was supposed to be published in June and part of a “Lord Of The Rings”-type trilogy, and I found one copy of it on a remainder table in October. There were no further additions to the “series”.

More true than ever is the experience of Vernon Thaxter from Boy’s Life. If you don’t know what I mean, read that section where Vernon is explaining to Cory about writing his book Moon Town. ‘Nuff said about that.

Some other writer has said that writing is one of the most brutal professions. Well…think of it. You are on your own. Everything comes from your mind. All the experiences that you’d had through your life color your work. There is no one to help you get through a scene, or make sense of a situation, or guide the work to a successful conclusion. You are on your own, kid. Think about the day-to-day pressure of that, because not only does the work have to be “good”, it has to be “extra-special” good, yet it can’t be too off-the-wall or too “daring”. In my experience, some publishers look for your work to follow a model of success that some other writer has created. I grew up with the idea that you should push yourself to create something that hasn’t existed before, to take chances, and in that way grow as a writer.

Well, I was wrong.

Wrong not in my belief, which I still think is right, but wrong in my idea that the publishing world would rush to embrace a new and different idea. That may have been so in the 1940s and 1950s, when there were primarily literary people in charge of the publishing world…less so in the 1960s and 1970s, when more business people began to come in…less so again the following two decades, and now I find that the business people are fully in charge, the stockholders are breathing down their necks, and any decision to take a chance on a book has to go through a committee, with the punishment of losing your job if you have backed an “under-performing” book. Yet book publishers still struggle to figure out how to promote a book, and most are thrown against the wall to see what sticks. In that kind of climate, very few are successful.

(And maybe I’m talking about the first two books of the Matthew Corbett series, and maybe not.)

Of course it all comes down to individual preference and what experiences have colored the life of any individual editor. The first Harry Potter book was turned down by a ridiculously large number of publishers…and I always thought it was funny, that if you went looking for the actual people who turned down books that later became extremely popular and successful, you would wind up with a handful of air.

Generally speaking, in my experience I have found that some professional people run from responsibility, would die—or kill—rather than admit a fault, and build stone walls to keep there from being any honest or constructive conversation. A publisher can scorn you and treat you like dirt, but any attempt on your part to fix a problem, or at least come to some deeper understanding, is rejected. Truly, you are supposed to become a mute slave, keep on working, and keep on taking any indignity that is pushed upon you. Any “backtalk” resigns you to the gutter.

Why do I stay in this kitchen, if it’s so hot and miasmic?

Because, as I say, I have your readership, your appreciation, and my desire to read books that only I can write. And this is not strictly an oversized ego speaking, but the awareness that to keep going in this business, you have to believe first and foremost in yourself, that you think only you can write this, that no one else can do it better, and by writing this you will be delivering what will hopefully mean something positive to someone and maybe cool off the particularly hot kitchen they might find themselves in. So…it’s for you, and it’s for me, and who else is there?

Moving ahead.

Next up is the second part of I Travel by Night, followed by the next Matthew book. After that will be a book I’ve been wanting to do for awhile, set in New Orleans during the Great Depression. It will be different, I promise that.

Thank you for your readership, your support, and your comments. Without those, where would I be? I shudder to think.

I hope you enjoy The River of Souls, which puts Matthew in quite a few dangerous situations and one at the end that is pretty much a cliff-hanger.

And as I say…moving ahead.

Robert McCammon

Share