SESFA Press Release


May 5, 2006 - The online magazine scifidimensions ( is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2006 Southeastern Science Fiction Achievement Award (the SESFA).

Best Novel of 2005 (Works >40,000 words) - In alphabetical order

  • The Home by Scott Nicholson (Pinnacle Books)
  • Seeker by Jack McDevitt (Ace)
  • Shadow of the Giant by Orson Scott Card (Tor)
  • War Surf by M. M. Buckner (Ace)

Best Short Fiction of 2005 (Works <40,000 words) - In alphabetical order

  • "Bears Discover Smut" by Michael Bishop (SCI Fiction)
  • "The Karst" by M. M. Buckner (Apex SF & Horror Digest #2)
  • "An Odd Day in I-Forgot" by Athena Workman (Apex SF & Horror Digest #2)
  • "The Voluntary State" by Christopher Rowe (SCI Fiction)

Lifetime Achievement in SF/F/H - In alphabetical order

  • Poppy Z. Brite
  • William S. Gibson
  • Robert McCammon
  • Jack McDevitt

Participants who pay a modest $7.00 membership fee may vote on the Nominees through June 30, 2006. The winners will be announced no later than July 5, 2006.

The SESFA Award ( is an online science fiction magazine edited by John C. Snider of Roswell, Georgia. Published monthly since February 2000, scifidimensions covers books, movies, television, comics, science and other topics of interest to genre fans.

The SESFA Award certificates feature artwork by Atlanta-based artist Dan Henderson (

John C. Snider, Editor
410 Roswell Farms Road
Roswell, GA 30075 USA
Phone: 404 213 8658
Email: [email protected]

© 2020 Robert McCammon Last updated 2020-07-17 00:17 Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha